Return to Animals Page →
See More Animals

Chilean Flamingos

Show/Hide Details

A group of Flamingos is called a stand.

The Chilean Flamingos are found in Chile and Argentina.

Their life span in captivity can be up to 50 years.

Flamingos are monogamous birds that lay only a single

egg each year. If that egg is lost or damaged, they do

not typically lay a replacement.

Flamingo chicks are born gray or white and take up to

three years to reach their mature pink, orange or red


There are six species of flamingo in the world. Chilean,

Lesser, Greater, American, James’s, Andean, and the


The backward bending “knee” of a flamingo’s leg is actually

the bird’s ankle. The actual knee is very close to the body

and is not visible through the bird’s plumage.